Overlooked Movie of the week, Short Term 12

I recently watched Short Term 12 and I have been kicking myself for not watching it sooner. Seeing as how it has been sitting in my Netflix queue for almost 2 years. The only reason I decided to finally getting around to watching it is because I have been seeing a lot of talk about ‘The Room’ the film adaption of the book with the same title about a woman who gets kidnapped, held hostage for years and ends up having a kid with her captor. I know dark stuff but anyways it been getting a lot attention the lead actress Brie Larson who most of you will remember as the love interest in 21 Jump Street

So when I looked up her imdb page I saw Short Term 12 and I instantly remembered always scrolling past while I search for a hour looking for something to watch.  I had put it off for so long because of the subject matter with foster kids and neglected children because its not all the time you are in the mood for something like but that day I just felt the universe was telling me to watch it so I did. I put it on and from the opening scene I was hooked. The film has a way of filming the characters as they tell stories and you just feel so connected to them like you are right across from them listening. It can be so funny at times and heartbreaking seconds later. I don’t want to give too much away other than I am definitely going to watch this a few more times because the ensemble of performances is so good and Brie Larson absolutely shines.

 

Leave a Reply

